Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Youth Hall of Fame

2019 Hall of Fame Nominations Open
Nominations for the 2019 Hall of Fame Class are being accepted through October 25.  Nominations are accepted for Administrators, Coaches, Referees, Volunteers, Players, and Meritorious Recognition. 
The 2019 Inductees will be recognized at the PA West Soccer Awards Gala on December 7, 2019 at the Doubletree by Hilton in Green Tree.
To download a nomination form click here

The purpose of the PA West Youth Soccer Hall of Fame is to appropriately honor persons who have brought unusually significant recognition to PA West Youth Soccer, or have by their unusually successful service achieved significant accomplishments on behalf of PA West Youth Soccer, or by a significant act or contribution distinguished themselves as a former athlete, or as a significant and unusual supporter of PA West Youth Soccer. 
Second Hall of Fame of Class Inducted
The second class of the PA West Soccer Youth Hall of Fame was inducted on Saturday, December 1, 2018 in Green Tree.  The class recognized three individuals who played prominent roles in the development of PA West Soccer.

Gene Klein - Gene was PA West Soccer’s first Director of Coaching. He filled the role from the late-1980’s well into the 1990’s. He was a successful high school coach with Quaker Valley HS that included numerous appearances in the PIAA final and championships earning him a sport in the Western PA Sports Hall of Fame. He is currently a scout with US Soccer’s Development Academy.

Natalie Schwoeble - Natalie served as President of PA West Soccer from 2007-2014 before moving to her current post as East Region . She had pre­viously filled a number of roles in the association’s Youth Division, including South District Director and Hearing and Appeals Chair on the Youth Board.  Prior to serving PA West Soccer she was involved with the West Mifflin Soccer Club.

Denny Kohlmyer - Denny is the Director of the Beadling Soccer Club.  His history with the game includes playing and coaching at a variety of levels.  He has been involved in a number of important periods in Western PA soccer including time as the Youth Development Director with the Pittsburgh Spirit and the development of classic soccer in PA West Soccer.  He has led numerous teams to state and regional titles, as well as trips to US Youth Soccer’s National Championships. 

Inaugural Class of Hall of Fame Inductees - Photo Gallery

PA West Soccer Youth Division inducted its inaugural class to the PA West Soccer Hall of Fame on January 13, 2018. The class recognizes those who were crucial to the creation and growth of the state association during its 40 plus years.

Those comprising the inaugural class of the Youth Hall of Fame are:

Steve Beckmann – Steve Beckmann served as President of PA West Soccer’s Adult Division from 1994-2009.  He was an originally part of the PA West Soccer Board of Directors when it was a youth state and assumed the role at the helm of the Adult Division when the joint state association was created.  Beckmann was also an integral part of the formation and growth of the Dynamo Soccer Club. 

Tom Beecher – Tom Beecher came to the PA West Soccer Board of Directors as Treasurer following time as President of Pittsburgh Strikers. He also served as interim Classic League Director and was a member at-large on the Youth Board. He remains an active referee and instructor.

Sam Cho – Sam Cho has served the game in a variety of referee roles.  He was also a founding member of the Dynamo Soccer Club.  Most recently he was a national assessor US Soccer.

Brandon James – Brandon James was President of PA West Soccer replacing June Stroop during her service as Region 1 Sub-Region Director from 1989-1990.  He has also served as a referee instructor and assessor.

Stan Hunter – Stan Hunter served on the PA West Soccer Board of Directors first as the South-Member At Large and then the VP-Youth.  He held the latter post from 1995 through 2010.  He served as the Open Tournament director seeing it outgrow the fields at Slippery Rock necessitating the move to Edinboro from 1988-1993. He also served on the Constitution and Bylaw Committee creating the governing document that was approved in 1999.  He still coaches and referees while holding a D License and grade 8 referee certification.

John Matter – John Matter served PA West Soccer in a variety of referee positions throughout his many years.  He served as State Referee Administrator on two separate stints the most recent ending in 2012.

Larry Solomon – Larry Solomon was President of PA West Soccer Association from 1999-2007.  Prior to becoming President, he served on the association Board of Directors from 1988.  He was instrumental in the creation and growth of the Dynamo Soccer Club.  He also served as PA West Soccer’s State Referee Administrator, was a referee instructor, assessor and assignor.

June Stroup – June Stroup was President of the PA West Soccer from 1980-1989 and from 1990-1997.  She served two years as Region I Deputy Director. She was also active in Adult Soccer and is a member of the US Adult Soccer Hall of Fame.

John Wilcher – John Wilcher was one of the founding fathers of PA West Soccer and served as its first President from 1975 through 1980.  He moved on to become the Region I Sub-regional Director.  Following his tenure with Region I he returned to form the Lake District from what was a much larger West District.  He served as its initial Director on the PA West Soccer Youth Board.